Interviews & Second-Look

 

INTERVIEWS

After review of the written application, including letters of recommendation, approximately 70 applicants are offered interviews. Interviews are required for full evaluation. The MSTP interview process is coordinated with interviews for the medical school during a two-day period. Applicants list on the MSTP application the specific investigators they would like to meet. Candidates meet with at least three members of the MSTP admissions committee, in addition to faculty members with shared scientific interests. During the first afternoon, the applicants meet with graduate program faculty and students working in areas of their scientific interest. At the end of the day, applicants have a more informal interview with an MSTP student who serves on the admissions committee. The student interviewer is matched to the applicant's research interests, whenever possible. A final wrap-up session with the MSTP director at the end of interview day is followed by an informal dinner with the students.

Interviews are offered on a rolling basis and we cannot guarantee that interview spots will be available on a given date.  The MSTP will interview candidates for the Class of 2018 on the following dates: 

 

SEPTEMBER 2017
Monday, September 11
Monday, September 18
Monday, September 25

OCTOBER 2017
Monday, October 2
Thursday, October 12
Monday, October 16
Thursday, October 26

NOVEMBER 2017
Monday, November 6
Thursday, November 16
Monday, November 20
Thursday, November 30

DECEMBER 2017
Monday, December 4

 

SECOND-LOOK  

Accepted students are invited back to Pittsburgh in the spring for an MSTP second look at our expenses. Additionally, they can choose to return during formal graduate program recruitment days or medical school second look days. The purpose is to meet with graduate program faculty mentors to define their initial laboratory rotation, thus beginning the process of defining their thesis lab.  Second-look for 2018 is scheduled for Thursday, March 22nd through Sunday, March 25th.